Earlier this year we received a new notion from Checker, called Print ‘n Fuse. Basically it is Heat n’ Bond that you can put in your printer to print designs you create instead of having to draw them by hand. The idea was grand, but the product – not so much. At the beginning of February it was recalled because there were reports of fusible web coming off the paper while in the printer causing a paper/fuse jam. We were told to destroy any packages we had in the shop.

However, instead of destroying it I decided I would bring it home and risk it. I didn’t have any problems with it in the printer. Instead, I found that the fusible doesn’t hold to well, and it gunks up on the fabric. Its not a horrible gunk, but if you look closely at the pictures you might be able to see a gray haze over the seal.

I’m interested to know if the other products like this work better or have the same out come. Personally, I figure it is probably best to stick with Heat n Bond for fused appliqué projects. Either way, here are three quilt blocks I worked on using the Print n’ Fuse.

I knew I wanted to do a pink penguin, but I didn’t have the right color pink in my stash. So I broke open my new Plume Layer Cake, that I was going to use in the Pin Wheel Party. The penguin turned out so cute that I had to do the seal and Eskimo as well. I also have a walrus in the works, and think I will do a fish, some sort of bird, and an igloo too.

I think it is funny to be using Plume – a wonder spring fabric collection in a quilt with cold area characters, but its cute. Now I will have to get another layer cake for the quilt along, which doesn’t hurt my feelings in the least bit!

I’m debating whether or not I might make the patterns I made into a PDF quilt pattern to put in an Etsy shop. What do you think? I suppose it will be better to tell once I have all the different quilt blocks made, though there is no harm in planning ahead.

Trina

P.S. I have to do hand stitching on the Eskimo and seal so that they will have facial features. That will come after I figure out how I’m going to secure them to the fabric. I guess it is time to learn how to do a blanket stitch.

