They aren’t done yet, but here is a peak of the progress.

Bento Box

Bento Box

The first quilt I decided on was the Bento Box.  It went together so quickly! Of course I only needed 4 blocks because it is a small quilt, but still it wouldn’t take much longer to do a lap or twin sized quilt.  I used this tutorial.

I need to order some Kona Solids to finish this quilt, so it is as done as it can be for now.  In the mean time I started my second baby quilt, also using the “1974” fabric. I decided to play with the Thangles some more because they are so easy and fun! The effort resulted in a pin wheel quilt.

Pinwheel Baby Quilt

Pinwheel quilt

The picture doesn’t really do the quilt any favors! I promise it will look better when it is finished, at least I hope it will! I was going to use Kona Solid, Ash, as the background, but I didn’t want to wait so I went with the next best thing. After searching SewFlakes for the perfect gray, I found this linen in the sale section. (Normally $14.50, marked down to $7.25 per yard!)

The linen makes it look so wrinkly, but that shouldn’t be a big deal after it is quilted. I didn’t use a tutorial or pattern for this quilt, instead I used graph paper to sort of map it out, not that it is complex or anything. It worked perfect, except for when I cut my gray pieces I forgot to account for seam allowances, but that was easily fixed.  I just trimmed my pinwheels down, rather than re-cutting the gray pieces. 

Won’t make a difference on a galloping horse!

One more blog I need to refer you to is Film in the Fridge. She makes quilting look so easy! Her Hope Valley quilt series is the inspiration for the pinwheel, though her quilts are so much better!

I have more to post about, but that is all on this topic for now. I hope you enjoyed it, at least a little bit.

Trina

