These are in no particular order.  I’m sure the list will grow as the year unfolds, but this is a good starting point.

1) I want to open my Etsy show and sell the things I make.  I really love fabric and sewing, so it wouldn’t hurt to find a way to sustain my hobby.

2)I want to enter into a Tulsa State Fair contest.  I have a photograph I took a while ago at the Tulsa Air and Space Museum that is at the very least advertisement worthy.  On a more practical note I will most likely enter into the quilt or table setting contests.

I think it is kind of silly that there’s a table setting category, but it would be fun all the same.  If I enter into that category I won’t use plastic ware, I will paint my dishes to match the setting, and if there are flowers they will be my own arrangement, not some bouquet from the store.

3)I would like to publish a pattern to make available for sell.  I’m not sure what sort of pattern it will be -probably a bag or apron. Either way it would be so encouraging to see someone buy and make something I have designed!

Starts of a blouse

4)To design a complete outfit and sew it together proper would be a great achievement.  Imagine me walking in to a  Utica Square boutique wearing a marvelous three piece outfit and selling my clothes there! This goal starts relatively small and morphs into something extravagant quite quickly I realize, but you just never know what will happen if you give it a go!

Testing possible fabric for a jacket

In all reality I don’t plan on becoming a fashion designer. (I would have to be able to sketch for starters and I can’t.) I don’t even really plan so much on making clothes to sell in a mass production sort of way.  It would be nice to make something, wear it around, have someone notice and like it, and then make that person their own custom outfit. The experience would be really gratifying in itself, being paid for it would be an added bonus.

First Baby Quilt

5) Star a “Hope Chest” for future children.  I want to be a mother so much! I don’t want to have children right now, though I regularly have a battle with hormones when I hear about babies. (I can’t help I am in my prime breeding years. *laughs*) Anyway, I am almost finished with my first baby quilt which will go in the chest (made of something other than cedar of course). I will make some baby clothes to put in it as well.  The first piece will be a dress for a baby girl using the fabric I received from Germany.  (The fabric is based on the book known to us as “Parent Trap”.  Really cute!)

"Parent Trap" fabric by Westfalenstoffe in Germany

6) The last one I have, so far, is shrimp. I am going to learn to cook shrimp in such a tasty, sophisticated way that I will completely forget they are the cockroaches of the sea.

